Nitartha's Curriculum

The Nitartha curriculum presents the Hinayana, Mahayana, and Vajrayana view through a well-developed progressive series of courses designed as foundation, intermediate, and advanced curriculum studies. Nitartha begins with the study of mind and its relation to objects. In essence, how do we know what we know, and how do we know if this knowledge is correct? These courses provide a foundational understanding of the terms and methods used to support analytical inquiry into how mind engages with its world. They build a well-developed ground on which the intermediate and advanced curricula are built.

Download the 2014 Nitartha Institute Course Catalog for complete information about Nitartha's curriculum.

Download Course Catalog


The Foundation program comprises four modules, titled Mind and Its World, which are designed to be completed in two years. It presents a thorough overview of the Hinayana tenet systems, and is taken in conjunction with Clear Thinking and Debate, classes which present the basic methods of analysis to test one’s understanding.

More on Foundation curriculum


The Intermediate curriculum builds on the Foundation courses and provides a systematic study of the ground, path, and fruition of the Mahayana:

  • Mind-Only
  • Middle Way
  • Paths and Bhumis
  • Buddha Nature

These courses in turn provide the basis for the Advanced curriculum, which continues with a more in-depth study of the Mahayana, as well as of the Vajrayana.

More on Intermediate curriculum


These classes are a continuation of topics from both the Foundation and Intermediate programs. Senior teachers teach from various texts and commentaries helping students dive deeper into their studies. Occasionally Ponlop Rinpoche teaches from Vajrayana texts, helping students further bring their knowledge to their practice.

More on Advanced curriculum


Online Classes